The Denver Post’s First-and-Orange Broncos blog won best professional sports blog in the annual EPPY Awards by E&P.
The Denver Post's First-and-Orange Broncos blog won best professional sports blog in the annual EPPY Awards by Editor and Publisher, beating out Sports Illustrated, ESPN/ and others. (Screenshot)

The Denver Post won three EPPY awards today from Editor & Publisher for best media-affiliated websites — including best professional sports blog, political blog and Spanish-languague newspaper website.

First-and-Orange, a blog covering the Denver Broncos with contributions from staff writers Lindsay Jones, Mike Klis, Jeff Legwold, Nick Groke and Patrick Saunders, won best professional sports blog in the top category of 1 million unique monthly visitors and over. The blog beat out finalists from Sports Illustrated, ESPN/, Newsday and

Viva Colorado, a bilingual Spanish-English news source produced by The Denver Post, won for best overall Spanish-language newspaper website. In May, the weekly-in-print publication became the state's largest bilingual news source, launching a new website with expanded social media presence and mobile applications for iPhone and Android. It has already won awards this year from the National Association of Hispanic Publications and took a first place prize from the Best of the West 2011.


In politics, The Spot — a blog featuring daily breaking Colorado political news, opinion and analysis — took the top award for best news/political blog with under 250,000 unique monthly visitors. Post staff writers Lynn Bartels, Tim Hoover, Kurtis Lee, Jeremy P. Meyer, Allison Sherry — who reports from Washington, D.C. — and members of The Post's editorial board contribute daily.

Judges named The Post as a finalist in two other categories: best social media platform with more than 1 million unique monthly visitors and best entertainment blog — Reverb at — with less than 250,000 unique monthly visitors. In the social media category, Entertainment Weekly topped The Post and Time Inc./InStyle Magazine.

The EPPY Awards, now in their 16th year, acknowledge the best media-affiliated websites in 43 categories. A panel of people in the media industry, chosen by the staff of Editor & Publisher, judged the entires from Oct. 15 to Nov. 11, 2011.